Yoga Weekly Intention: Acceptance

In my class you will often hear me tell my students that yoga is learning to accept yourself just as you are, and to appreciate the body that came to your mat today.  This, like many of the things I tell my students, is something I have to remind myself too.

tunnel 2The other night I was taking a class where this mantra came into full effect.  I look over to my left and this girl is twisting herself into a pretzel!  One leg behind the head, the other, and then both!  You’ve got to be kidding me!!  Why can’t I do that?  I still struggle in pigeon.  What is wrong with me?  Am I not yogic enough?  All these questions, emotions, mental abuse come flooding into my mind.  I stop.  Just breathe, everything changes.  What good is coming from this train of thought?  I have to accept myself, and my practice for what it is.  Appreciate the body I do have, and all the amazing things I am able to do with it on a daily basis.

Today I told myself, I am human.  I have strengths, and weaknesses.  Inside all of them is beauty.  I will accept myself, body and mind, and my practice for what it is today, and learn to appreciate the light in all areas.  I hope you too; can find the light inside of yourself.

Leave a Reply

